Captivating Bridge by Michelle Mankin @MichelleMankin @Brandeesbook #Review


Took a nights sleep because mentally I was too drained to even write the review but…I will say I did get my redemption answer!

OK a few hours of sleep and now I am ready. Book 1 showed us the author had a great group of characters and displayed betrayal and drug abuse. Book 2 shows us that people can overcome drug addictions and function in society. Featuring Bridget and Justin both who had struggled with addiction. Book 3 goes back to War. the suicide and depression angle was great.

When War meets Shaina it is something special. These two are at a life impasse. I loved the struggles they both faced. The author does a great service to her readers showing them that everyone at one time or another thinks about suicide. People often feel worthless or under so much pressure they imagine peace. For War, losing his mother was hard. I think in book 1 he struggled with her and her parenting skills. I say that loosely. Now Shaina is a sitcom teen star, but really 21. She has pressure because she is holding onto the memories that haunt her. I loved how she wanted to help War overcome. Shaina thought her sister Cass’ suicide was preventable. Truth be told if you are in a dark place sometimes there really is no saving you.

 They struggle through her family and the extreme pressure put on her acting career and War’s old band.

Truthfully this was the best book in the series for me anyways. Please grab this series especially if you backstage band drama.

Now on a side note. If you do an author the service of reading their work in an ARC format I think you know what the genre is, if not then clue yourself into the cover. Just looking at the blurb and cover tells you it is going to be steamy. So dont take the book if you are a prude. 


Michelle Mankin is the author of the Black Cat Records series of novels.
Romance with subtext.
Reimagining classic stories with sexy rock stars and thought provoking issues.
For many years she worked in the insurance industry as an underwriter. Somehow, the boredom didn’t kill her but the hours and hours of looking at facts and figures provided ample time for her mind to wander.
Black Cat Records in Vancouver provides the central backdrop for all of Michelle’s current novels. Love Evolution, Love Revolution, and Love Resolution are a Brutal Strength centered trilogy, combining the plot underpinnings of Shakespeare with the drama, excitement, and indisputable sexiness of the rock ‘n roll industry.
Things take a bit of an edgier, once upon a time turn with the Tempest series. These pierced, tatted, and troubled Seattle rockers are young and on the cusp of making it big, but with serious obstacles to overcome that may prevent them from ever getting there.
When Michelle is not prowling the streets of her Texas town listening to her rock music much too loud, she is putting her daydreams down on paper or traveling the world with her family and friends, sometimes for real, and sometimes just for pretend as she takes the children to school and back. 
Tempest series:
Irresistible Refrain 
Enticing Interlude 
Connect with Michelle Mankin 
Facebook    On Twitter   Website 
Receive the Black Cat Records newsletter:

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.